We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the ESCP website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time.


ESCP, the Alrov Institute for Real Estate Research at Tel Aviv University, and the UCLA Ziman Center for Real Estate are jointly organizing a conference on issues of low-income housing supply, related financing tools, and housing affordability.

The selection committee is interested in economics and policy research on topics including housing affordability, inequality, house price and rent dynamics, rent control, low-income housing supply and demand, private-public partnerships including (but not limited to) the Low Income Housing Tax Credit (LIHTC) and the Tax Increment Financing (TIF) programs, mortgage and housing finance system design and performance to support affordable housing, land use regulation and entitlements, demographic factors, homelessness, urban stratification, population mobility and immigration, and policy at all levels of government.  The conference will be held at ESCP – Madrid Campus (Spain) – on June 4-5, 2019.  Follow-up academic meetings for coming years are being planned for Tel Aviv University and UCLA.

Those interested in presenting a research paper at the Madrid conference should send a PDF of their paper or a detailed abstract to ziman.center@anderson.ucla.edu by March 1, 2019.  Authors of accepted papers will be notified by April 1, 2019. The conference sponsors will pay lodging expenses for one author of each accepted paper. Electronic copies of the conference papers will be made available at the conference website.   The Call for Papers for the next conference in Tel Aviv will be circulated shortly after the conclusion of the Madrid conference.

Conference Organizing Committee:
Danny Ben-Shahar, Tel Aviv University
Stuart A. Gabriel, UCLA
Jaime P. Luque, ESCP

Conference Scientific Committee:
Oscar Arce, Bank of Spain
Nate Baum Snow, University of Toronto
Danny Ben-Shahar, Tel Aviv University
Jan Breuckner, University of California at Irvine
Joao Cocco, London Business School
Tom Davidoff, University of British Columbia
Morris Davis, Rutgers University
Anthony DeFusco, Northwestern University
Jorge de la Roca, University of Southern California
Yongheng Deng, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Yuming Fu, National University of Singapore
Stuart A. Gabriel, University of California at Los Angeles
Mark Garmaise, University of California at Los Angeles
David Genesove, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Ed Glaeser, Harvard University
Ingrid Gould Ellen, New York University
Lu Han, University of Toronto
Diana Hancock, Federal Reserve Board of Governors
Barney Hartman-Glaser, University of California at Los Angeles
Christian Hilber, London School of Economics
Eduard Kung, University of California at Los Angeles
Jaime P. Luque, ESCP
Gianluca Marcato, University of Reading
Daniel McMillen, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
Tim McQuade, Stanford University
Antonio Mello, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Stani Milcheva, University College London
Kiyohiko Nishimura, National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies
Stephen Oliner, American Enterprise Institute
Katherine O’Regan, New York University
Gary Painter, University of Southern California
Wayne Passmore, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
Tarun Ramadorai, Imperial College London
Stuart Rosenthal, Syracuse University
Tsur Somerville, University of British Columbia
Jiro Yoshida, Penn State University and University of Tokyo




Organiser: Jaime P. Luque

Madrid - Spain



Start date: 04/06/2019

Start time: 8:00 AM

End date: 05/06/2019

End time: 8:00 PM